7 Things Teachers do in the Summer

“Wait, so are you like… doing anything?”

 

I’ve been getting that question a lot lately.

Being a teacher is not only awesome because I stinkin’ love my job, but it’s awesome because there’s this great 2.5 month period of not having to go to work, think about work, talk about work. It’s legit.

Basically, since entering adult world, I have never stopped having a summer. And I am not upset about it in the slightest.

 

This baffles many other young adults (and regular aged adults) who have frequently asked me the question, “Wait, so what are you going to do?”

 

My summer has so far consisted of doing things I forgot that I loved to do as well as doing things I didn’t have time to do in the school year. So here are 7 things my summer has been full of:

This is literally what's on my bed right now.

This is literally what’s on my bed right now.

1. Sleep – Sleep is SO good. I forgot how good it was. After spending 9 months waking up at 5 am, I have become determined to not set my alarm as many times as I can this summer. This has happened maybe 5 times in the two weeks I’ve been out of school and it has been MARVELOUS. I told a friend that this is my hibernating time and I’m stocking up on sleep until August. But wait, wouldn’t it be the best if we could all just store up on sleep and then use those extra hours when we really needed it? That’d be so cool. C’mon God. Make that happen.

 

2. Read – I forgot how much I love a good book! Here are some of my summer reads right now… (Yes, I am reading 4 of these books at one time. WHO AM I, I DON’T KNOW, IT’S WEIRD.)

The Fault in Our Stars Okay, whatever. It was so good that I read it in 24-hours. I feel like this would be a great book to take to the beach. Except you might cry in public. So maybe just stay in and read it. And then cry yourself to sleep.

Lord of the Flies – I somehow missed out on reading this book in high school. I think I was just in the one English class that didn’t read it. Either way, I’m catching up now basically because I heard it was the earlier version of The Hunger Games. Confession – I’m having a hard time getting into it but I want to keep reading just so I’m not one of those weirdo’s that’s never read “Lord of the Flies.”

The Omnivore’s Dilemma – This is a fascinating book about where our food comes from and how Americans have overanalyzed everything we eat. Every now and then, I’ll pick it up and read a couple of pages. My friend Amanda, who’s brilliant and knows a ton of things about biology, picked up the book, read two pages, and got offended about how inaccurate it was. I’m still reading. Regardless! It’s extremely interesting.

Present Perfect – This was lent (lent? lended?) to me from a good friend. It’s about finding God in the now. I’ve read one chapter and am already in love with it.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) – Mindy Kaling (AKA Kelly from “The Office”)’s book. This chick is funny and has some hilarious stories to tell. It’s been an easy and amusing read. It’s also making me wonder why the heck there are no Christian female comedians in this world. C’mon women!

 

3. Learn to play guitar – I WILL DEFEAT YOU, GUITAR. Shout out to Jordan McGowan for being so musical that he has two guitars and is letting me use one. This has been a year-long battle. I successfully know how to play one song and I play it whenever I get frustrated learning chords. But maybe, just maybe, by August I’ll be leading open mic nights or something. (hahahahahahaah…rightttt….)

 

4. Do random odd jobs – Although baby-sitting is not technically an odd-job, I have been doing a handful of that as well as more peculiar things like helping someone liquidate a multi-million-dollar estate that had more stuff in it then I ever knew was possible to own. Things like this…photo

5. Go to community events – Like these outdoor movie nights they’ve been having here in Cary and Raleigh. Last week, 3 friends and I went to see “The Princess Bride” in this outdoor amphitheater and it was the best. Most likely because the entire audience was totally into it and everyone quoted “Hello, my name in Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die” in unison. I’m convinced the most crucial part of watching a movie is making sure you are watching it with a good audience.

 

6. TAKE TRIPS! – So far I have a trip to Florida, Tennessee, the mountains, and California all planned for the next month. And I am STOKED.

 

7. Do adult things – This is the last thing on the list because unfortunately these take up a lot of time and consists of things I really don’t feel like doing. Things like house-shop, car-shop, call credit companies about my stolen identity, find a doctor, find a dentist, pack (eventually), clean out my closet and sell things, etc. Alas, not all of my summer can be full of rainbows and sunshine.

 

So what about you? What are you doing with your summer?

Leave a Reply

