The Art of Transition

photo

There was a brief moment in November where I wrote about this thing called transition.

But there was so much more to it. In the past week, I’ve had a lot of questions about how to handle transition, what life outside of the training school looks like, moving to a new city, etc.

For those of your who are settled in your city and have no intention of having a big transition ahead of you… I’m sorry. This is post is probably not for you. And I won’t be talking about dating in this post…. So please come back later. 🙂

But this post IS for everyone with an upcoming transition, a big move, a new community ahead, a new job, or anything of the sorts.

Here are my 7 tips for how to handle transition.

1.Grieve the previous season’s end. It’s over and done. And you need to accept that. Don’t stuff your grief but don’t sulk in it either. Find the happy-medium of feeling the deep finality of your previous season. And allow yourself a moment to feel it all in its fullness.

2. Steward words and promises about the next season well. You need to choose to believe with your WHOLE heart that the next season you’re about to walk into really is the best to come. God says we move from one degree of glory to the next. Don’t forget the promises for the season you’re walking into. If necessary, daily read them back to yourself.

3. Decide right now to be a pursuer of people. This means you will choose to press in and pursue people regardless of their responses. You will press in to friendship… with people from the previous season and people in the new one. Become a texter. Choose to be consistent and committed to pursuing people with the same heart that Jesus pursues us. Be vulnerable from the start in your new season with your new community. Let your old community know how you’re REALLY doing when they ask…don’t just say “good.”

4. Have practical boundaries for the “middle time.” Leaving one community and joining another normally means there is a middle time of having no community, or no job, or no city to call your own. Ask Jesus for practical boundaries for that time. It’s a moment where you are exposed and vulnerable. Think of it as a lobster without a shell on. Now imagine that lobster decides to expose itself to the harshest things possible, pick a fight with a shark, roll around in some coral…. Seems pretty stupid right? You get the picture.

5. Start investing prayerfully, financially and relationally in the new season (church, city, community, etc.). Your heart will follow the place your pray for and financially support. If you have the chance to invest and pursue relationships with people in that new place, start doing it now.

photo

6. Have a Laney Horton. Laney is one of my dearest friends and was my roommate while I was in the training school last year. She got an up-close and personal seat to all of the transformations I went through during that year. She fought (and still fights) for words for me. She prayed (and still prays) diligently for me. And most importantly, she has never (and will not ever) hesitate to call me out when I start straying from the identity God has placed on me. She has seen me at my best and worst and is a committed friend. She’s there for encouragement, rebukes, external processing, and venting whenever I need it. Have someone who knows you and will keep you on track to keep being you.

7. Accept that the next season isn’t going to look the same as the last. But different does not mean bad. Find a NEW rhythm but stay consistent and committed to your values. Decide the things that CAN’T change in your life; things like time with God, being discipled, going to lifegroup, etc.

It’s possible to thrive in transition.

What are some ways you have learned how to thrive in transition?

2 thoughts on “The Art of Transition

  1. Thanks for writing this! Wish I had read it before one of my own big transitions! If I could say what had helped me thrive in transition it would be 1. getting involved somewhere. If it means visiting a new church/life group/bible study every night until I find one I will go to regularly, do that. 2. It’s not necessary to start a new dating relationship during transition time. I’m sure there’s exceptions, but that has never yielded positive choices for me to start something, specifically romantic relationships, when I was in transition period. 3. I’ve always had an easier time transitioning when I ate healthy and exercised. Getting involved in a weekly zumba class helped me meet people and stay active. It helped my mind stay positive and alive.
    just thought I’d answer your question with my two cents 🙂 from a girl with lots of transitioning! Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

