My Parents are Hotter Than Me

My parents anniversary is tomorrow. I’m going to be entirely honest and assure you that I have no idea if it’s their 25th or 26th anniversary. Regardless, they’ve been married for a really LONG time. And today I began thinking about how grateful I am for them. And how stinkin hot they are.

Now while I can assure you that my parents are both extremely good-looking people, let me explain.

Sometime in my years in Antioch’s college ministry, our college pastor, Carl Gulley, did a sermon series (probably about dating) in which he explained that the word “hot” can really be defined as being “hungry, obedient and teachable.”

My parents exude these characteristics, especially recently. They have learned what it is to listen to the voice of God before any other voice and act obediently towards His calling. And I think they would both tell you that this isn’t something they’ve done their whole lives. This is further proof of their amazing humility and willingness to keep learning. While they are rooted and grounded and established, they are still learning. It’s both challenging and encouraging for me to witness and realize that for the rest of my life, I’m always going to keep learning more about God. There’s never an end to Him. What a relief that life will always be full of adventures that seek out the character of God. What a conviction that I will never know it all. It’s foolish for me to think I will ever “arrive” at my fullest knowledge potential of God in my 20’s. I’m always going to get closer. And it’s always going to get better. My parents are proof of that.

Something shifted when I went to college. While I was still submitted to my parents, something changed in the dynamics of our relationship. I’m not sure exactly how I can explain it but somewhere in the mix of a parent-child relationship, the characteristics of a deep friendship were intermingled. It’s surpassed a relationship of authority and submission and I can say my parents truly are my close friends that I love and value and support. Mind you, they are still my parents and more than once have they given me advice that I foolishly neglected only to come crawling back to them, tail between my legs, realizing they had been right. I think the moment I entered my 20s, it hit me that they actually knew what they were talking about.

photo

My parents have taught me about commitment. The way they fight for their marriage and for us, their children, gives me a glimpse into the heart of God like nothing else. I see the way Jesus fights for me, his bride, by the way my dad continues to pursue my mom. And the way they would absolutely go to war for their children is astounding. It makes my heart completely overwhelmed to know that God is even more for me than my parents are.

Somehow, my parents have remained supportive of me. I have done things to give them more than 3 grey hairs each. Things like move to Texas, travel to the other side of the world with no one over the age of 22 and most recently, move to Raleigh without a job…probably the scariest one for them of all. But they trusted God. Yes…there was fear, from both me and them. But because of their whole-hearted submission to Jesus, all of us have survived this transition. There’s a deep trust that’s being established in our family now because of the examples they are setting to believe Him no matter what. They are hungry, obedient, and teachable followers of Jesus. And I’m glad they’re my parents.

Happy anniversary you two! Here’s to 25 (or 26) more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

