Enough With the Formulas

If A + B = C then A + B = who knows.

That’s really what living as a follower of Jesus is like.

And the “J” in me is learning to embrace this. I love formulas. I love predictability. I love observing people, figuring out what makes them tick, and then predicting how they’re going to act in a situation. It’s like a fun game for me.

I have always loved Algebra because all it is is a formula. It’s just a puzzle. You plug in one number and you will always get the same number. There’s one answer. When 3x = 6, x is always going to equal 2.

God isn’t like algebra.

He can’t be confined to a formula.

But even though my brain loves formulas, my spirit comes alive at the thought that God is utterly unpredictable.

When He says in Isaiah 43 – “Behold I am doing a new thing, now it springs forth…” He literally means something that’s never been done before.

I can’t contain God to cause and effects. I can’t line up my life in the way I see my friends live their lives in order to achieve certain results. This romance with Jesus does not operate on a rewards system. He never looks at me and says “If….Then….”

When He says “new” He doesn’t only mean it’s new for you. He means it’s new…for the world. He’s THAT creative. And He can bring it about at any moment, any time He wants. He’s creative enough to bring new things to every person every day. He creates individual mission statements for each human…not a single one of them is the same. Your purpose, value, vision is entirely different than that of the girl sitting across the table from you at Starbucks. You may share the same passions as someone else but your purpose…the plans…they’re entirely and uniquely and specifically for you alone.

If that doesn’t light you on fire with the potential for your life, I don’t know what else will.

Your life is thriving with potential for things to be done that have never been done before. THRIVING. He is longing to perform miracles through you that have never been done before that will open the door to miracles that have never been done before through someone else.

Don’t predict Him. Don’t limit Him to a formula. His character is an endless ocean, begging to be explored and discovered. Explore the depths of Him! Know the truth of who He is and embrace the boundless creativity and unpredictability of all that He is.

I don’t think I’ll ever grow tired of seeing Jesus like this…

180f239c08a13e9b7290b8961989866f

Consistently waiting with surprises for me when all I have to do to get them is walk towards Him.

Leave a Reply

